Your kind of irony`

If your fate is the inability to change the diet or lifestyle of the people you love the most (in an effort to elongate their lifespans), mine is listening to you observe and condemn the ill-treatment your siblings dole out onto their long term partners while experiencing the same kind of thoughtless/hurtful treatment from you that you can’t see nor readily admit.

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, Courage to change the things I can, And wisdom to know the difference.” Want more irony? This is the Serenity Prayer that A.A. meetings utilize.

I don’t think it’s ironic that I began moving my diet towards veggies and fruit and our relationship ended: I find it tragic. You confessed, once, that you don’t like to announce to family and friends any pending achievements until the very moment they’re real. I’m the same: I wanted to see how far I could go along with your diet demands without informing you for two reasons: to see if you saw any differences in me and to keep from disappointing you if I faltered too soon. Even if I had cheated with a treat here and there, I would have gotten back on the saddle but you wouldn’t have allowed me that time. You’ve become a bully towards me; I took your initial stand against being your family’s scapegoat/whipping boy and breaking free of their co-dependency as a great sign and I saw your outbursts directed towards me as a means of releasing all your decades of pent-up anger/angst. That was fine, but what I didn’t foresee is being your whipping boy and the length of time you’ve been projecting familial issues on me and our relationship.

 

 

 

