Year of Cock

LOL, it’s the Chinese New Year of the Rooster ^_^ But a year of cock just sounds more… devious and delightful 😉

I’d really like to know how some people manage to have a spouse and a little something on the side: I get so overwhelmed trying to manage my dates with my schedule along with theirs, planning the date, keeping facts with their owners, etc. It’s gotten to the point where I don’t even want to look at my phone or engage in long conversations via text; I miss having meaningful conversations over the phone, especially when I can’t get out to see my friends/dates. Embarrassingly, I’ve slipped a few times and mentioned names of the people I’m seeing when out with someone else 😦 I recover quickly but at the same time, I’ve been upfront with everyone on where they stand in my life. The mature ones understand I’m skittish about committing to anyone and that I’ll be getting busier and busier as the MCAT approaches, not even including what med school will do to my free time and concentration.

Yesterday, my phone fell into the most ridiculous and inaccessible place: the hollow of my Texan’s couch. He loves his couch (I’m beginning to prefer it, too) being it’s oversized with a full size bed’s width for deep seating and comfy sleeping. However, it has one of the most asinine designs being that there’s no pull out bed underneath, for whatever reason, the backboard isn’t connected to the spring bottom. So, when I saw my phone had slipped under the cushions and wedged underneath the stuffed backboard, I naturally placed my hand next to my cell and under the fabric. Once the little pressure the stuffing provided in keeping my cell wedged was relieved, it promptly fell into the back of the couch! He had to get to work, I was on 2 hours of sleep and in the precious minutes we had, we flipped the couch hoping the cell would fall into a wider space just enough for my hand to grab it. No luck and because he had been in the shower when this happened, he thought I was crazy/lying. To prove his point, he tried calling my cell but I have the “Do Not Disturb” setting on and we wouldn’t have heard a thing at 7 am. I said I was pretty sure I could deal without my cell for a few hours until he was off from work and I was done cleaning the house/doing laundry and other prep for Chinese New Year.

Oh, my friend, I didn’t realize I hamstrung myself. I have two-step verification for ALL my sensitive accounts (email, Amazon, WORDPRESS, etc.) and couldn’t get into a damn thing because I never printed out alternate codes for situations like I was in. Damn it. Everything I schedule with a time/reminder wasn’t happening, couldn’t call my friends to re-sched movie night, couldn’t call anyone whose number I got AFTER 2012 because I stopped memorizing them. Then, I realized I couldn’t tell my Texan if I was on my way because I didn’t know when I would be done with all my errands PLUS I never memorized his number either (he would realize the same problem about an hour before he left work). In desperation, I re-activated my OkC and shot a message over to him with my land line, telling him I couldn’t even email him since I couldn’t get in without the codes sent to my cell! Argh!

Around 7 pm, I head to his place with sewing needles, thread and seamstress scissors to cut his couch because it was the only way we were getting my cell. The cowboy was adamant about NO cuts because he was almost sure I was crazy or lying since he only heard a soft sound like something sliding down when we flipped it but he hadn’t heard it again. I knew he was drunk so, I made a compromise: we’d pull some of the carpenters staples from the bottom of the couch and look in. If nothing was there, we’d stop BUT I bet him $2,500 (I fully planned on reimbursing him the cost of the couch if we ruined it) that the phone would be in there. Never bet against me, my friend – it will only ever end badly for you/the other party 😉

Today, I can’t eat the most delicious New Year’s food because my Crohn’s refuses to abate: the bitter reality of a colonoscopy and endoscopy (since I haven’t been eating, my stomach acid has been rising – it could very well be just the stress of classes, too) is something I have to accept. In fact, my more superstitious family members think I should stay away, less the bad luck of illness strikes them, too. I’ll still be getting my red envelopes of cash no matter what 😀 My only regret is that Beck won’t be present because he loved the celebration and dinner, too.

Valentine’s Day is coming up: I’ve never been single on Feb. 14 since I started dating in high school, though I have tried! It’s like Fate wants it her way or not at all: it’s inevitable that one of the three I’ve been seeing will ask me for a stronger commitment and I’m not sure how I’ll respond. I know it sounds trite that a shallow holiday should influence my dating status at all but history clearly shows a pattern I can’t break: I belong to someone on that day and beyond for however long the Universe seems fit. I hope you have someone to cuddle up to or to share amazing hours of conversation and delight, my friend. I must get ready =oD

Happy New Year! May good health, fortune and luck find you in the Year of (the) Cock, my friends xoxox

